Annual Meeting Awards

The Association introduced a new award, The Voyager Award, at the annual meeting last Saturday.  Several other awards were also presented at that time, including the group’s ASA Award and a special award to Mystic Seaport.

The Voyager Award is named in honor of Peter and Jeanette Phillipps, who, in addition to several transatlantic trips, left in the early ‘90’s on what turned out to be a 15-year circumnavigation aboard their 50’ Alden designed gaff schooner Voyager, thus fulfilling Peter’s long-held ambition.

 The award, to be made periodically when appropriate, will go to someone who has sailed far in the manner and spirit of the Phillipps.  The first award goes to Richard Hudson who, aboard his schooner Issumu, has met that criteria.  Richard has completed at least two transatlantics but his singular accomplishment was the transit of the Northwest Passage from east to west which he completed two years ago.  Since arriving on the west coast, Richard spent some time in Alaska and British Columbia then left early last September for Rapa Nui, also known as Easter Island, in the South Pacific.  He left there early in February for Chile where he will remain until he leaves for Antarctica later this year.  When the award will actually be presented to him is anyone’s guess. You can follow Richard's travels through his blog, and his web site


The special award to Mystic Seaport was in recognition of its major reconstruction and historic 38th voyage of the Charles W. Morgan, the last existing American whaling vessel.  It was accepted on behalf of the Seaport by Quentin Schnediker who oversaw the reconstruction. 

The American Schooner Association Award, presented to an individual or organization that has contributed to the group’s goals, this year was awarded to Nan Nawrocki of Baltimore, for her many years of organizing the Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race which, this year, celebrated it 25th anniversary.

Sam Hoyt
Past Commodore